Happy Friday!

Posted: May 10, 2013 in Uncategorized

Today is going to be a good day. I can already tell. Mainly because I’m still at home in my yoga pants, sipping coffee, with fresh air coming through an open screen door. It’s a little after 9am, sunny, and already about 70 outside.

Perfect.

I gave my students the day off from class to enjoy the sunshine. It’s supposed to be rainy and back into the 60s next week, so I figured we should take advantage of the opportunity. It was a win-win really…I gained instant popularity points, and I also get the day off to work on my dissertation.

I’m finding teaching to be a challenge this summer…enrollment is down across the college, and it’s a very fine line to try to walk…I NEED all my students to stay enrolled or I don’t get paid, so I feel like I have to take it a little easier on them than I normally would. But ethically, it’s still really important that they learn something, so each class day is a search to find that balance.

Today I just want to focus on the positive. It’s a beautiful day. I’m going to watch the last two episodes of King of the Hill in my Netflix queue and drink some more coffee, and get to work on this dissertation chapter I’m cranking out. Tomorrow the weather is supposed to be 82, and probably warmer in Lewiston where I’m headed with the boyfriend for a demolition derby and a full day of redneck entertainment.

Winning. 🙂

Leave a Reply

