More Adventures in Cooking

Posted: November 30, 2011 in Uncategorized

I’ve been trying to branch out in what I cook, because it’s a lot easier to eat healthy when the food is interesting. On the agenda this week, something I’ve only experimented once before:

Baby Octopus.

These little suckers look intimidating, but they’re actually fairly easy to clean and cook. 3 oz of octopus clock in at about 3 Weight Watchers PointsPlus points, and a baby octopus typically weighs in at a little less than an ounce, so you can eat three or four of them for relatively few calories. The texture is a little chewy, but not as much as full-sized octopus. The store where I usually buy my groceries usually sells these little guys in a pack of 6-8 baby octopus for around $3, making them one of the cheapest seafood products available. Cleaning only takes a few minutes, and they are tiny, so they cook quickly. There’s really no downside to the baby octopus, as long as you don’t mind a few minutes of cleaning and prep work – I wash the octopus individually, then slice off the neck and pop out the little beak at the center of the body (this is in a little sack, and comes out easily). Then I flip the heads inside out, clean the organs from them (sounds gross, but it goes quickly), and slice the head into rings. I cut the legs in halves to make them a little easier to eat.

This time around, I made a simply marinade of 2 tsp olive oil, juice from half a lemon, a splash of white wine, and some garlic salt. I let the octopus, along with some baby shrimp, sit in the marinade for about half an hour in the refrigerator, then drained the liquid (to cut down on calories) and sauteed the octopus and shrimp over medium heat for about 5 minutes. I added marinara sauce, 2 tbsp of Philly Cooking Cream (if you haven’t tried this, DO IT – it’s delicious!) and tossed the mixture with whole wheat thin spaghetti. This made two servings that I estimate at about 6-7 Points Plus points. Not bad! It tasted very rich and was very filling, and all total, worked out to about $4 per serving. I’ll make it again!

Leave a Reply

