Reset Button

Posted: October 28, 2011 in Uncategorized

I’ve been fighting to hit the reset button this past week. Accepting that my prelim exams are over, and that means I really do have to grow up and move on to the next phase of my life is a little bit intimidating…but also pretty awesome.

I feel liberated.

I can’t wait to get started on some new projects I’m ready to embark on. I have two articles to write, which I’m strangely excited about. I have a third article almost finished that I’ll be sending off next week for publication.

I’ve been reading an actual book that isn’t for school the past few days. Patricia Cornwell’s Portrait of a Killer: Jack the Ripper, Case Closed. It’s fabulously creepy, and does not contain footnotes, but is also not a trashy romance novel. Win.

National Novel Writing Month starts next week. I haven’t been able to participate for the past few years (thanks, Grad School…), but I’m looking forward to being able to do it again this time around. I’m going to write a delightfully, mostly accurate tale of Virginia City, and see how that works out for me. I’m actually hoping it will help me think about my dissertation in new ways, so it’s actually a win-win. I get some down time from research, but it will also benefit the way I approach my research, and the way I tell the stories of the characters I’m hoping to capture.

Can’t argue with that.

I’m also diving easing back into my song writing, and that’s been a very therapeutic thing for me in going through this whole process.

Saturday, I’m hosting a Halloween party. When I first did this two years ago, I was terrified. I’d never had an actual party in my house before, and I wasn’t so sure I could handle it. But I did, and it turned out well. This will be year #3, and I’m the most relaxed about it that I have ever been. I don’t even care if not a lot of people show up…as long as the ones that do show up are the ones I want to hang out with.

So, lots going on in the last week. It has been a strange week. I’ve been saying for years that I’m still trying to wrap my head around the fact that I’m actually getting a PhD, but this is the first time it has really felt real. That’s pretty awesome. And I’ve been reminded what amazing friends I have. Surprise balloons on my truck and an unexpected cake are two of the nicest things anyone has ever done for me, and I got both this week. That was very healing for the younger me that’s still trapped in this body sometimes. She deserves it.

Leave a Reply

