Celery Root Bisque

Posted: October 14, 2011 in Uncategorized

I was wandering around the local Farmer’s Market with boyfriend on Saturday, and I stumbled across celery root at my favorite vendor’s stall.

I was intimidated, but also intrigued.

Celery root is not a pretty vegetable. In fact, it’s one of the most unattractive vegetables I’ve ever seen. But it has two things going for it in my book:

1) It’s cheap

and

2) Once, around May of 2003, while I was in Hungary, I had a celery root soup that was, hands down, one of the most amazing things I have ever tasted

I picked up four softball-sized bulbs and scurried home to explore recipes. I decided on this one.

Celery root…

Peeled, it reminds me of jicama.

Cubed with some potatoes

Butter makes everything better.

Add celery…

…and celery root, and potatoes…

…and chicken stock and thyme…

A little half and half and a stick blender = perfection.

Leave a Reply

