Why My Parents Piss Me Off, Part 17.

Posted: October 11, 2011 in Uncategorized

I just picked the number 17 randomly…there is no viable way to keep track of how many times my parents have done things that have elicited an eye roll, internal scream, proverbial tearing out of hair, or physical clenching of my tiny little fists.

I decided to have my parents over for lunch a couple of Sundays ago. I hadn’t actually seen them for a while…studying for prelims was a convenient excuse (but mostly just that…and excuse) because my level of patience and toleration with them is fairly low at the moment. I’m just not dealing well with coming to the realization that I’ve had to take responsibility for things that no child should have ever have to, but my parents will never take responsibility for the things they failed to do.

Not well at all.

Call me insensitive, but that’s the place I’m at right now. I bought into the codependency and victimization for a long time, and now that I’ve moved past it, it’s hard to know where and how to incorporate them into my life, since they won’t ever change.

I thought it might be nice to have a later lunch on Sunday, since they normally go to church. They insisted we had to do it at noon, so my dad’s blood sugar wouldn’t be affected.

Okay.

I had lunch prepped, assembled, and ready to go on the table at 11:55. Noon came, then 12:15, and 12:20. Still no parents. I finally texted mom at 12:25.

“You almost here?”

12:30 text from mom –> “We r jst lvng now.”

I screamed internally, turned down the burners, made sure boyfriend was near the stove, and took my neighbor’s tiny dog for a quick walk.

The parents finally arrived at 1:15. We enjoyed a nice lunch, while mom talked about how annoyed she is with the federal government for refusing to forgive a student loan they took out for me when I was an undergrad. I didn’t even know about this loan until about six months ago, but apparently mom applied for forgiveness because the payments were too high.

The government was, to use one of the best quotes ever from the original Pirates of the Caribbean, “disinclined to acquiesce to her request.”Instead, they informed her she could choose not to make payments until 2025, after which time they’ll start garnishing her Social Security to pay back the loan.

Mom is pissed about this.

To be fair, I’d like my student loans forgiven too. I am inclined to agree that the cost of education in this country is outrageous. On the other hand, I also realize that I took out these loans, and I’m ultimately responsible for them.

(That word, “responsibility” rears its ugly head again…)

I did good through this line of conversation. We even chatted about school for a little bit, which doesn’t always happen. They don’t really understand what it is I do, and I’ve accepted that. I don’t even understand what I’m doing half the time.

The point where I lost it was a few minutes later in the conversation, when my dad, practically glowing, announced that he bought *another* tractor last week.

Thousands of dollars that could have (and SHOULD HAVE) gone toward paying down their mountain of debt…and it went to tractor 207.

(Okay…I don’t actually know what number it is. But safely over 200. Not even exaggerating).

Mom apparently had no concerns about this.

And they wonder where my sympathy is, and why I’m sick and tired of playing parent??

I. Hate. Tractors.

Seriously.

I. Hate. Tractors.

Leave a Reply

