Good Deeds

Posted: May 3, 2011 in Uncategorized

I should do nice things for strangers more often.

I’ve always been a person who tries to make other people happy. It makes me happy to know that something I’ve done has improved someones mood or made their day a little better. This is why I get just as excited about giving people presents as I do about getting them. Who doesn’t like presents?

Today I went to a couple of local stores to get some treats for my bff who is living in Korea at the moment. Shipping costs for sending things to Korea are astronomical, so I plan ahead (sort of) and try to ship things a couple of times per year. I don’t really care how much it costs, because the idea that it makes my bff happy is all that really matters. I headed out of the store with my bags full of goodies and headed home to pack them into little boxes while watching TV instead of doing my reading for my last class on Thursday.

As I was heading out of the parking lot, a homeless guy was sitting down near the stop sign. He was about my age, and his cardboard sign only had three words on it: “Hungry. Just hungry.” We don’t typically have homeless people where I live, so there were a lot of reasons that this was unusual. By the time I got to the gas station across town, it was still bothering me, so I turned around and went back. I make it a point never to give homeless people money, so I swung through the McDonald’s drive through on my way and picked up a Big Mac, large fries, a Coke, and some chocolate chip cookies.

I pulled up by the stop sign and hopped out in the middle of a spectacular wind storm, which we get here sometimes during the spring and fall. It was so windy, it blew this poor guy’s hat off as I walked up to him. I mentioned that it was a terrible day to be outside (what do you say in these situations?) and handed him the food. “No, it’s a wonderful day,” he said with a big smile and thanked me. A wonderful day? It was ridiculously windy, getting cold (now it’s raining) and this guy was talking about a wonderful day? It made me wish I could have done more, and it was a stunning reminder to be grateful for all the good things in my life.

I wish I’d run back into the store and bought that guy a poncho.

Leave a Reply

