Unproductivity

Posted: February 21, 2011 in Uncategorized

I’ve been gloriously unproductive today. It wasn’t an intentional decision, but it was for the best. Grad school has turned me into someone who has a hard time taking a break from anything…if I’m not working, I feel like I’m failing somehow. The problem with that mentality is that it’s very hard to sustain: it makes it easy to crash and burn out. Sometimes, life has to kick in and remind you that you need a break.

I started off this morning with a cup of coffee and every intention of working on one of the consulting projects that’s been stacked up on my “to do” list for….um…going on two years now. It’s a project I’m probably a little under-qualified for, but it’s turning out quite well, even if vastly over the time limit I originally scheduled for it. Then I got sidetracked looking for jobs. (The situation with my major professor has made this an appealing diversion). In the midst of that, one of my good friends called and asked if I’d like to go see an afternoon musical performance with her, since her boyfriend was stuck at work and couldn’t make it. I dashed upstairs, threw on some jeans and mascara, and we zipped off to the performance (which we made it to with 5 minutes to spare).

When I got home, instead of picking up with work, I continued the job search and applied for a position that would pretty much be my dream job…I technically meet all the qualifications for it, but it’s a very long shot, so I’ll be very surprised if I’m even considered for an interview. It just felt good to do something that’s a next step from school instead of directly school related for a change. Taking the next step and growing up (on paper, at least) has been a really scary thing for me for a long time, but I’ve finally reached the point where I’m ready to make that transition. I’m tired of the constant drama and stress that is grad school…

So, instead of working right now (which I’m typically still doing, even though it’s 10:30pm) I’m kicking back and watching some TV with the boyfriend and letting my sweet ombre effect nail polish dry. I should do this more often.

Leave a Reply

