Jumping Off Points

Posted: February 12, 2011 in anxiety, disappointment
Tags: ,

And cliffs, maybe. Lots of things going on this week. In ever-present grad school news, I got an unexpected email from the chair of my department this evening that said essentially “We need to have a meeting to talk about your relationship with Dr. X in more detail. Tuesday, 10:00?” I can only imagine what this will entail. Probably more mundane details about what Dr. X is failing to do when it comes to helping me get ready for exams. In any case, it makes me nervous when he calls it “my relationship with Dr. X.”

At the top of a completely different cliff, I just submitted a video clip to the AvonVoices contest. The submission part is over, and now I get to sit back and wait to see if I’m selected, rejected, or…what other options are there? This is another one of those things I probably wouldn’t have had the guts to do a year or two ago, so in that sense, I’m happy that I’ve followed through on this. You can’t get rejected  from things if you don’t try, and if you don’t try, you never know what will happen. I promise I’ll post a link if the video actually makes it through the first selection process.

Leave a Reply

